About Us

Blackwell has been providing structural engineering services to architects, developers and building owners since 1987. We excel at solving tough problems and achieving architectural vision, producing efficient structures supported by tight contract documents. We offer full consulting engineering services on a broad spectrum of projects, from the new construction of university facilities, offices, retail buildings, medical centres, recreational and visitor centres, schools, libraries and religious institutions, custom homes for private owners, multi-residential and industrial buildings, as well as additions and alterations to existing structures, including those with designated heritage status.

Principals

Principal

Christian Bellini has worked for Blackwell since 1995, and during his tenure has designed many significant projects that have won numerous awards in both engineering and architecture. His extensive portfolio revolves around recreation centres, libraries, schools and other institutions designed for public use. Projects he has designed include the Centennial College Library and Administrative Facility, Brampton Soccer Centre, Artscape Wychwood Barns, Toronto Botanical Gardens, Regent Park Community Health Centre, Jackson-Triggs Estate Winery, Claude Watson School for the Arts, Maria A. Shchuka District Library, Agnes Etherington Arts Centre and Killbear Visitors Centre. He became an associate in 1998, a senior associate in 2004, and a principal of the company in 2008.

Christian is a licensed professional engineer in the province of Ontario, and volunteers on several executive committees of the Professional Engineers of Ontario.

Principal

David Bowick has received many industry honours since he began his career in 1990. His inventive approach to design has made him sought-after, particularly when a project calls for innovative solutions. He is a three-time recipient of the WoodWorks Building the Future engineer award, and has received awards for his work in wood, concrete and architectural steel. Dozens of projects he has worked on have been granted awards in the field of architecture, such as such as the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics and the French River Visitors Centre (both recipients of the Governor General’s Award).

An avid teacher, David is an adjunct professor in the Masters in Architecture program at the University of Toronto. He is a frequent guest speaker on the topics of architecture and engineering, and contributes to the industry through committees and events. His writing has appeared in several publications, including Concrete Toronto.

David is a licensed professional engineer in the provinces of Ontario, British Columbia, Alberta and New Brunswick. He is a member of the Canadian Standards Association Technical Committee on CAN/CSA-O86, Engineering Design in Wood and a member of the Technical Committee responsible for the Engineering Guide for Wood Frame Construction.

Principal

Since joining Blackwell in 2000, Ethan has brought his considered approach, attention to detail, and exceptional client communication skills to a wide variety of projects within Blackwell’s portfolio. He has complemented his extensive experience in the design and construction of private residences around the world with expertise in a variety of other building types including libraries, community centres, schools, and public institutions. In his role as Principal, Ethan leads engineering teams in all of Blackwell’s offices: Toronto, Waterloo, Victoria, and Halifax. His convivial leadership style has a marked effect on the positive success of projects, both big and small, and his wealth of experience in practical construction and design facilitates exceptional client coordination.

Ethan was the Principal in Charge of the award-winning Scarborough Civic Centre Library, Malvern District Library, Sir Sandford Fleming College, and Ontario Mission for the Deaf Seniors’ Residence. In addition to these public buildings, Ethan’s portfolio contains a wealth of private residential projects ranging from traditional home renovations to high end modern new construction.

Originally from Vancouver Island, Ethan started his career as a carpenter and construction foreman in British Columbia. He went on to earn his Diploma in Civil and Structural Engineering at the British Institute of Technology in 2000, and upon graduation moved to Toronto to join Blackwell as a Structural Designer. Ethan became a Principal in 2008 and is now based in Blackwell’s Victoria office while commuting to and from the Toronto office, providing leadership on projects across Canada.

Principal

Ian Mountfort joined Blackwell in 1999, and became an associate in 2005 and a principal in 2008. He studied at McGill University in Montreal, where he obtained his Bachelor of Engineering in structural engineering. He also earned a bachelor’s degree in philosophy, making him the only arts major on our leadership team. He brings a welcome perspective to all of our projects, and is focused on elegance and efficiency, as well as advances in building technologies. He has been responsible for the design of many notable projects including the St. James Town Community Centre, Weathering Steel House, Integral House, Southbrook Niagara Estate Winery and the St. Catharines Aquatic Centre. Ian’s work has received numerous awards, including three from the CISC for his work on steel-framed structures; he was the Principal in Charge of the York University Life Sciences building, which has won multiple awards for engineering innovation.

Ian is a licensed professional engineer in the province of Ontario. He also writes all of our haiku.

Principal

Cory graduated with an Honours Bachelor of Applied Science in Civil Engineering from the University of Waterloo in 1997, followed by a Ph.D. in Civil Engineering from the University of Ottawa in 2004.

In the three years between his two degrees, Cory worked for Blackwell Engineering Limited as a structural designer, working on many notable projects including the Erindale Student Centre for the University of Toronto in Mississauga. After completing his doctorate, Cory returned to Blackwell, opening the Waterloo office, which he manages. He continues to represent the firm on some of our most prestigious projects, including the Canadian Customs Plaza at Fort Erie and the Balsillie School of International Affairs in Waterloo. Recently Cory has been leading Blackwell’s entry into bridge engineering focusing on innovative composite FRP-timber bridge structures.

Cory is a licensed professional engineer in the Province of Ontario and is also an Adjunct Assistant Professor at the University of Waterloo’s School of Architecture. In addition he is a member of the ANSI/APA PRG 320 Standard committee for Cross-Laminated Timber, and a member of the Timber Bridge sub-committee for CSA S6, the Canadian Highway Bridge Design Code.

Principal

Expert in low-rise and mid-rise construction, Pierre-Alexandre Koch is our resident concrete specialist. He is responsible for the majority of our work on condominiums and other concrete structures including schools, mixed-use buildings, public institutions and elements of infrastructure. He was the principal in charge of the Thomas L. Wells Public School, Osgoode Hall Renovation, North Shore and Port Credit Village Condominiums, the Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario building and the Kelso/Glen Eden pedestrian bridge in Milton, among other projects. He became an associate of the firm in 2005 and a principal in 2008.

Pierre is a licensed professional engineer in the province of Ontario and a licensed member of the Quebec Order of Engineers.

Principal

Mike joined Blackwell in 2008, became an associate in 2010, and a principal in 2019. Since joining Blackwell, Mike’s portfolio has expanded to include numerous high profile recreation centres, schools, universities, and other institutions designed for public use. Mike has also engineered several fabric structures while at Blackwell such as the Edmonton Stadium Warm Fan Canopy, the KEMH Canopies in Bermuda, and the McMaster Ambulance Canopy in Hamilton. Mike is a licensed professional engineer in the Province of Ontario.

Principal

Jessica earned a Bachelor of Science in Engineering at Queen’s University in 2007. Since joining our team, Jessica has gained extensive experience in engineering a multitude of building structures including high profile recreation centres, schools, and other institutions designed for public use. Jessica solves complex problems with innovative and creative solutions, and demonstrates a great ability to work under pressure to meet tight deadlines.

Principal

Michael has extensive knowledge and experience in the design and construction of a wide variety of structures. Over his 15-year career, Michael has become Blackwell’s in-house expert when it comes to engineering solutions for residential and small projects of all types, whether new it’s new construction or renovation. Michael was made principal at Blackwell in 2022 and leads our residential engineering team.

Our Team

toronto

A. Blake McCraw

IT Manager

bmccraw@blackwell.ca

EXT. 114

Adam Culpeper, P.Eng.

Engineering

aculpeper@blackwell.ca

EXT. 128

Andrew Orel-Golla, P.Eng.

Engineering

aorelgolla@blackwell.ca

EXT. 111

Christian Bellini, P.Eng.

Principal, Engineering

cbellini@blackwell.ca

EXT. 122

Colin Mates

Associate, Accounting

cmates@blackwell.ca

EXT. 130

David Marcucci

Engineering

dmarcucci@blackwell.ca

EXT. 209

David Moore, BASc

Engineering

dmoore@blackwell.ca

EXT. 131

Dorothy Pawluk, MSc.Eng.

Drafting

dpawluk@blackwell.ca

EXT. 136

Elishua Ben-Choreen, P.Eng.

Engineering

ebenchoreen@blackwell.ca

EXT. 112

Eunice Ajayi

Engineering

eajayi@blackwell.ca

EXT. 152

Gabriel Barnsteiner, B.Eng.

Engineering

gbarnsteiner@blackwell.ca

EXT. 155

Gabrielle Tuck

Engineering

gtuck@blackwell.ca

EXT. 135

Greg Holowaty, P.Eng.

Senior Associate, Engineering

gholowaty@blackwell.ca

EXT. 102

Greg Sawka, P.Eng.

Engineering

gsawka@blackwell.ca

EXT. 141

Ian Chin, M.Sc.

Engineering

ichin@blackwell.ca

EXT. 148

Ian Mountfort, P.Eng.

Principal, Engineering

imountfort@blackwell.ca

EXT. 116

J. David Bowick, P.Eng.

Principal, Engineering

dbowick@blackwell.ca

EXT. 110

Jake Greenhow, B.Eng.Mgt.

Engineering

jgreenhow@blackwell.ca

EXT. 139

Jamie Townsend, BASc

Associate, Communications and Proposals

jtownsend@blackwell.ca

EXT. 101

Jessica Costantin, P.Eng.

Principal, Engineering

jcostantin@blackwell.ca

EXT. 138

Kate Montgomery, B.Eng.

Engineering

kmontgomery@blackwell.ca

EXT. 137

Katherine McAlister, BASc

Engineering

kmcalister@blackwell.ca

EXT. 145

Kenneth Cryer, BASc, LEED AP

Associate, Engineering

kcryer@blackwell.ca

EXT. 127

Kenzie MacDonald, B.Eng.

Engineering

kmacdonald@blackwell.ca

EXT. 149

Kim Sommers

Senior Associate, Accounting

ksommers@blackwell.ca

EXT. 117

Kington Chu

Engineering

kchu@blackwell.ca

EXT. 144

Liam Hughes

BIM Specialist

lhughes@blackwell.ca

EXT. 118

Martin Sampson-Coburn, P.Eng.

Engineering

msampsoncoburn@blackwell.ca

EXT. 120

Michael de Raaf, P.Eng.

Associate, Engineering

mderaaf@blackwell.ca

EXT. 142

Michael Sundercock

Accounting

msundercock@blackwell.ca

EXT. 130

Mike Feindel, M.Eng.,P.Eng.

Principal, Engineering

mfeindel@blackwell.ca

EXT. 132

Michael Hopkins, AScT,LEED AP

Principal, Engineering

mhopkins@blackwell.ca

EXT. 125

Olimpia Del Duca

Adminstration

odelduca@blackwell.ca

EXT. 109

Patrick St-Onge, BASc

Engineering

pstonge@blackwell.ca

EXT. 151

Pierre-Alexandre Koch, M.Eng.,P.Eng.

Principal, Engineering

pkoch@blackwell.ca

EXT. 115

Renée Mackay-Lyons, MASc,P.Eng.

Associate, Engineering

rmackaylyons@blackwell.ca

EXT. 113

Richard Mui, M.Arch.

Engineering

rmui@blackwell.ca

EXT. 123

Ross Spark, P.Eng.

Associate, Engineering

rspark@blackwell.ca

EXT. 146

Sandy Galam

BIM Specialist

sgalam@blackwell.ca

EXT. 153

Sean Reinsma, M.Eng.,P.Eng.

Associate, Engineering

sreinsma@blackwell.ca

EXT. 119

Simon Burelle, P.Eng.

Engineering

sburelle@blackwell.ca

EXT. 121

Simon Rayment, P.Eng.,LEED AP

Senior Associate, Engineering

srayment@blackwell.ca

EXT. 124

Susana Vong

Accounting

svong@blackwell.ca

EXT. 126

Taryn Levy, CHRP

HR

tlevy@blackwell.ca

EXT. 140

Vincent Chu, M.Eng.

Engineering

vchu@blackwell.ca

EXT. 134

waterloo

Adrian Gilles, BASc

Engineering

agilles@blackwell.ca

EXT. 207

Cory Zurell, Ph.D.,P.Eng.

Principal, Engineering

czurell@blackwell.ca

EXT. 201

David Vrljic, M.Eng., P.Eng.

Engineering

dvrljic@blackwell.ca

EXT. 203

Jordan Schneider, M.Eng.,P.Eng.

Associate, Engineering

jschneider@blackwell.ca

EXT. 204

Kushal Parmar

BIM Specialist

kparmar@blackwell.ca

EXT. 208

Matthew van Riesen, P.Eng.,P.E.

Associate, Engineering

mvanriesen@blackwell.ca

EXT. 206

Michael Robbins, MASc,P.Eng.

Senior Associate, Engineering

mrobbins@blackwell.ca

EXT. 202

Pankaj Savaliya

Engineering

psavaliya@blackwell.ca

EXT. 211

victoria

Andrea Mitchell, BASc

Engineering

amitchell@blackwell.ca

EXT. 507

Ethan Ghidoni, C.E.T., A.Sc.T. (BC)

Principal, Engineering

eghidoni@blackwell.ca

EXT. 501

Kenneth Mak, Ph.D.

Engineering

kmak@blackwell.ca

EXT. 508

halifax

Brooke Guzar, P.Eng.

Associate, Engineering

bguzar@blackwell.ca

EXT. 401