About Us

Blackwell has been providing structural engineering services to architects, developers and building owners since 1987. We excel at solving tough problems and achieving architectural vision, producing efficient structures supported by tight contract documents.

We offer full consulting engineering services on a broad spectrum of projects, from the new construction of university facilities, offices, retail buildings, medical centres, recreational and visitor centres, schools, libraries and religious institutions, custom homes for private owners, multi-residential and industrial buildings, as well as additions and alterations to existing structures, including those with designated heritage status.

Our mission is beauty through efficient structure.

Principals

close Christian Bellini
Principal

Christian Bellini has worked for Blackwell since 1995, and during his tenure has designed many significant projects that have won numerous awards in both engineering and architecture. His extensive portfolio revolves around recreation centres, libraries, schools and other institutions designed for public use. Projects he has designed include the Centennial College Library and Administrative Facility, Brampton Soccer Centre, Artscape Wychwood Barns, Toronto Botanical Gardens, Regent Park Community Health Centre, Jackson-Triggs Estate Winery, Claude Watson School for the Arts, Maria A. Shchuka District Library, Agnes Etherington Arts Centre and Killbear Visitors Centre. He became an associate in 1998, a senior associate in 2004, and a principal of the company in 2008.

Christian is a licensed professional engineer in the province of Ontario, and volunteers on several executive committees of the Professional Engineers of Ontario.

→ Download CV

close J. David Bowick
Principal

David Bowick has received many industry honours since he began his career in 1990. His inventive approach to design has made him sought-after, particularly when a project calls for innovative solutions. He is a three-time recipient of the WoodWorks Building the Future engineer award, and has received awards for his work in wood, concrete and architectural steel. Dozens of projects he has worked on have been granted awards in the field of architecture, such as such as the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics and the French River Visitors Centre (both recipients of the Governor General’s Award).

An avid teacher, David is an adjunct professor in the Masters in Architecture program at the University of Toronto. He is a frequent guest speaker on the topics of architecture and engineering, and contributes to the industry through committees and events. His writing has appeared in several publications, including Concrete Toronto.

David is a licensed professional engineer in the provinces of Ontario, British Columbia, Alberta and New Brunswick. He is a member of the Canadian Standards Association Technical Committee on CAN/CSA-O86, Engineering Design in Wood and a member of the Technical Committee responsible for the Engineering Guide for Wood Frame Construction.

→ Download CV

close Ethan Ghidoni
Principal

Ethan Ghidoni started his career as a carpenter and construction foreman in British Columbia, where he developed expertise in material technique and project delivery that he now applies in his work for Blackwell. After joining Blackwell in 2000, he became an associate of the firm in 2005, and a principal in 2008. Ethan manages the Victoria office, leading our private residential practice, with experience in designing scores of original homes and cottages throughout Ontario and beyond. He also contributes significantly to non-residential projects—his portfolio includes the new Scarborough Civic Centre Library, Sir Sandford Fleming College, Ontario Mission for the Deaf Seniors’ Residence, Rock Community Church, Malvern District Library, 23 Division Police Station, Northview Community Centre, Fontainebleau Branch Library and Beaches Branch Library. Ethan is known for his work in projects using wood construction, as well as for the attention and diplomacy he brings to projects large and small.

→ Download CV

close Ian Mountfort
Principal

Ian Mountfort joined Blackwell in 1999, and became an associate in 2005 and a principal in 2008. He studied at McGill University in Montreal, where he obtained his Bachelor of Engineering in structural engineering. He also earned a bachelor’s degree in philosophy, making him the only arts major on our leadership team. He brings a welcome perspective to all of our projects, and is focused on elegance and efficiency, as well as advances in building technologies. He has been responsible for the design of many notable projects including the St. James Town Community Centre, Weathering Steel House, Integral House, Southbrook Niagara Estate Winery and the St. Catharines Aquatic Centre. Ian’s work has received numerous awards, including three from the CISC for his work on steel-framed structures; he was the Principal in Charge of the York University Life Sciences building, which has won multiple awards for engineering innovation.

Ian is a licensed professional engineer in the province of Ontario. He also writes all of our haiku.

→ Download CV

close Cory Zurell
Principal

Cory graduated with an Honours Bachelor of Applied Science in Civil Engineering from the University of Waterloo in 1997, followed by a Ph.D. in Civil Engineering from the University of Ottawa in 2004.

In the three years between his two degrees, Cory worked for Blackwell Engineering Limited as a structural designer, working on many notable projects including the Erindale Student Centre for the University of Toronto in Mississauga. After completing his doctorate, Cory returned to Blackwell, opening the Waterloo office, which he manages. He continues to represent the firm on some of our most prestigious projects, including the Canadian Customs Plaza at Fort Erie and the Balsillie School of International Affairs in Waterloo. Recently Cory has been leading Blackwell’s entry into bridge engineering focusing on innovative composite FRP-timber bridge structures.

Cory is a licensed professional engineer in the Province of Ontario and is also an Adjunct Assistant Professor at the University of Waterloo’s School of Architecture. In addition he is a member of the ANSI/APA PRG 320 Standard committee for Cross-Laminated Timber, and a member of the Timber Bridge sub-committee for CSA S6, the Canadian Highway Bridge Design Code.

→ Download CV

close Pierre-Alexandre Koch
Principal

Expert in low-rise and mid-rise construction, Pierre-Alexandre Koch is our resident concrete specialist. He is responsible for the majority of our work on condominiums and other concrete structures including schools, mixed-use buildings, public institutions and elements of infrastructure. He was the principal in charge of the Thomas L. Wells Public School, Osgoode Hall Renovation, North Shore and Port Credit Village Condominiums, the Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario building and the Kelso/Glen Eden pedestrian bridge in Milton, among other projects. He became an associate of the firm in 2005 and a principal in 2008.

Pierre is a licensed professional engineer in the province of Ontario and a licensed member of the Quebec Order of Engineers.

→ Download CV

Our Team

toronto

A. Blake McCraw

IT Manager

bmccraw@blackwell.ca

EXT. 114

Adam van Bruinessen, B.Eng.

Engineering

avanbruinessen@blackwell.ca

EXT. 131

Alex Dason, M.Eng., P.Eng.

Engineering

adason@blackwell.ca

EXT. 148

Andrea Atkins, M.Arch., LEED AP

Engineering

aatkins@blackwell.ca

EXT. 140

Andrew Orel-Golla, P.Eng.

Engineering

aorelgolla@blackwell.ca

EXT. 111

Brooke Guzar, P.Eng.

Engineering

bguzar@blackwell.ca

EXT. 151

Christian Bellini, P.Eng.

Principal, Engineering

cbellini@blackwell.ca

EXT. 122

Colin Mates

Accounting

cmates@blackwell.ca

EXT. 130

Danielle Orel-Golla

Adminstration

dorelgolla@blackwell.ca

EXT. 128

Devon Ryan, BASc

Engineering

dryan@blackwell.ca

EXT. 109

Dorothy Pawluk, MSc.Eng.

Drafting

dpawluk@blackwell.ca

EXT. 136

Eva Chau, M.Eng., P.Eng.

Engineering

echau@blackwell.ca

EXT. 123

Gabriela Nuta, M.Eng., P.Eng.

Engineering

gnuta@blackwell.ca

EXT. 104

Greg Holowaty, P.Eng.

Engineering

gholowaty@blackwell.ca

EXT. 102

Greg Sawka, P.Eng.

Engineering

gsawka@blackwell.ca

EXT. 141

Ian Mountfort, P.Eng.

Principal, Engineering

imountfort@blackwell.ca

EXT. 116

J. David Bowick, P.Eng.

Principal, Engineering

dbowick@blackwell.ca

EXT. 110

Jamie Townsend, BASc

Proposals and Business Development

jtownsend@blackwell.ca

EXT. 101

Jessica Costantin, P.Eng.

Associate, Engineering

jcostantin@blackwell.ca

EXT. 138

Kenneth Cryer, BASc, LEED AP

Engineering

kcryer@blackwell.ca

EXT. 127

Kenzie MacDonald, B.Eng.

Engineering

kmacdonald@blackwell.ca

EXT. 149

Kerry Zhang, P.Eng.

Engineering

kzhang@blackwell.ca

EXT. 137

Kim Sommers

Associate, Accounting

ksommers@blackwell.ca

EXT. 117

Kyle Sutton, BASc

Engineering

ksutton@blackwell.ca

EXT. 120

Lucía Delacoste Griñó, M.Eng.

Engineering

ldelacoste@blackwell.ca

EXT. 144

Michael Hopkins, AScT, LEED AP

Associate, Engineering

mhopkins@blackwell.ca

EXT. 125

Michael Feindel, M.Eng., P.Eng.

Senior Associate, Engineering

mfeindel@blackwell.ca

EXT. 132

Norris Cheng, BASc

Engineering

ncheng@blackwell.ca

EXT. 126

Olimpia Del Duca

Adminstration

odelduca@blackwell.ca

EXT. 109

Pierre-Alexandre Koch, M.Eng., P.Eng.

Principal, Engineering

pkoch@blackwell.ca

EXT. 115

Tim Joyce, MASc, P.Eng.

Associate, Engineering

tjoyce@blackwell.ca

EXT. 145

Renée Mackay-Lyons, MASc, P.Eng.

Engineering

rmackaylyons@blackwell.ca

EXT. 113

Ross Spark, P.Eng.

Engineering

rspark@blackwell.ca

EXT. 146

Simon Rayment, P.Eng.

Engineering

srayment@blackwell.ca

EXT. 124

Sean Reinsma, BASc

Engineering

sreinsma@blackwell.ca

EXT. 119

Tim Mills

Engineering

tmills@blackwell.ca

EXT. 112

Vincent Chu, BASc

Engineering

vchu@blackwell.ca

EXT. 134

Wesley Dodson

Drafting

wdodson@blackwell.ca

EXT. 118

Zoe Hanneman, BASc

Engineering

zhanneman@blackwell.ca

EXT. 152

waterloo

Alan Goodhoofd, P.Eng.

Engineering

agoodhoofd@blackwell.ca

EXT. 205

Cory Zurell, Ph.D., P.Eng.

Principal, Engineering

czurell@blackwell.ca

EXT. 201

David Vrljic, P.Eng.

Engineering

dvrljic@blackwell.ca

EXT. 203

Jordan Schneider, M.Eng.

Engineering

jschneider@blackwell.ca

EXT. 204

Matthew van Riesen, P.Eng.

Engineering

mvanriesen@blackwell.ca

EXT. 206

Michael Robbins, MASc

Associate, Engineering

mrobbins@blackwell.ca

EXT. 202

victoria

Anthony Spick, P.Eng., LEED AP

Senior Associate, Engineering

aspick@blackwell.ca

EXT. 502

Ethan Ghidoni, C.E.T., A.Sc.T. (BC)

Principal, Engineering

eghidoni@blackwell.ca

EXT. 501

Manoah Gutknecht, MASc

Engineering

mgutknecht@blackwell.ca

EXT. 503